

For Immediate Release September 2, 2020

## **KOOTZNOOWOO, INC. ANNOUNCES 2020 ELECTION RESULTS**

(Juneau, Alaska) — Kootznoowoo, Incorporated, the Alaska Native village corporation for the community of Angoon, held its 47<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of Shareholders via webcast this past weekend on Saturday, August 29, 2020.

The theme for this year's annual meeting and election was "Turning the Ship". The corporation reported a profitable year to shareholders. Updates on key projects and initiatives included but were not limited to the Thayer Creek Hydro Project, sale of the carbon credits, and the Board's strategic planning efforts. Susan Bell of the McDowell Group provided the keynote address.

"We are very proud of how far the corporation has come in these past few years," said Board Chair Melissa M. Kookesh. "We look forward to further growth and are committed to continued support and partnership with the Community of Angoon."

Five candidates ran for the board's two open seats. Kootznoowoo's board is comprised of seven directors who are each elected to serve a three-year term. Incumbents up for re-election were Frank J. Jack III and Sharon Love.

When the election results were announced by the Inspector of Elections, one new director, Matthew A. Kookesh was elected. He will replace Sharon Love who began serving as a director in 2017. Frank J. Jack III was elected to a second term. Continuing directors include Ella Bennett, Harold Frank Jr., H. Jean Hogue, Melissa M. Kookesh, and Cooney C. Starr.

At the reorganization meeting following the Annual Meeting, the Board re-elected Melissa M. Kookesh to the position of Board Chair. Retaining their officer positions were Frank Jack III as Vice Chairman and H. Jean Hogue as Corporate Secretary. Harold Frank Jr. was elected as Treasurer, replacing Cooney C. Starr who chose not to run as an officer.

###

Media Contact: Hal Dreyer, President & CEO Kootznoowoo, Incorporated (907) 227-0150 hdreyer@kootznoowoo.com

Kootznoowoo, Inc. is the Alaska Native Corporation for the village of Angoon in Southeast, Alaska. It was incorporated in 1973 under the terms of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act. Kootznoowoo represents approximately 1,100 shareholders. For more information, visit www.kootznoowoo.com.