(Juneau, Alaska)—Kootznoowoo, Incorporated, the Alaska Native village corporation for the community of Angoon, held its 50th Annual Meeting of Shareholders this past Saturday, June 17, in Angoon, Alaska.  In addition to a report from Kootznoowoo President & CEO Thomas Wilbur, shareholder Jaeleen Kookesh served as the meeting’s keynote speaker.

Three candidates ran for the board’s two open seats.  Kootznoowoo’s Board is comprised of seven directors who are each elected to serve a three-year term. Incumbents whose terms were ending included Albert Howard and Frank Jack, III.  Both incumbents ran for re-election.

When the results were announced by the Inspector of Elections, Frank Jack, III who began serving on the Kootznoowoo Board in 2017 was re-elected to a third term.  Sharon Love, who previously served on the Board from 2017-2020, was elected to serve a second term.

“Congratulations to Frank and Sharon on the success of their campaigns to the Kootznoowoo board, and we thank Albert for his service these past few years,” said Mr. Wilbur. “The Board is responsible for making important leadership decisions and setting the strategy for the corporation. Kootznoowoo is fortunate to have shareholders who are committed to taking on this important responsibility by serving on the board.”

Continuing directors include Ella Bennett, Mary Jean Duncan, Eunice James, Edwell John Jr., and Melissa M. Kookesh.

On June 19, the Board held a reorganization meeting to elect new board officers.  At the conclusion of the meeting, Eunice E. James had been re-elected Board Chair; Frank Jack, III as Vice Chair; Melissa M. Kookesh as Treasurer; and Mary Jean Duncan as Corporate Secretary.

Ralph “Chico” Bierely

K-Plaza Building Maintenance Manager

Chico serves as a jack-of-all-trades for the corporation. His main responsibility is overseeing the maintenance and upkeep of the K-Plaza building. However, he provides additional support when needed on a variety of projects. He is based in Juneau.